So Transit, is it Rapid?

So the new Rapid Transit system started this week. In some ways I was underwhelmed – two plus years to lay 3km of roadway? And where is the bike path that goes alongside? Sure there is one to Ft. Rouge station, but there is no reason why it could not have been extended the length of the route ( it didn’t need to be part of the tunnel, it could have crossed the tracks)

Anyway, I took it most of the week, and I’m impressed. Not so much by the additional speed – I think on most days there didn’t seem to be much of a lineup through confusion corner, but by the schedule and route changes.

Prior to RT, my bus (the 62 / 37) was the ONLY bus servicing south Winnipeg-Downtown route that did not stop anywhere in the block of Fort-Portage-Main-Graham. Instead, it was a hike to Citiplace, and actually Portage Place if I wanted a seat. Now, the bus stops in front of the Cargill building on Graham, so I’m now a block from Portage and Main – nice!

The other improvement comes form changing the timing of the buses on my route. I like the additional route 37 buses running in the am. However, the big plus is the addition of buses between 5:00 and 5:30 in the evening.Prior to RT, there was a 37 at 5:09 ( which meant leaving work early to hit that one) and then nothing till 5:30. Now there are 4 buses in that time between 5:00 and 5:30.

Improvements that could be made? Sure, add one more 37 outbound ( 5:03 is kinda tight), and fix the voice announcing the stops – I know that the street is called Jubilee, but listening to the stop, I’d swear it was pronounced ” Jew Boy”!!!

 

Leave a Reply

