The Moderation ( or lack thereof) of commentary

For those that follow various blogs, you’ll see differing levels of commentary and moderation of comments allowed. I personally believe that if you are posting your opinions (especially on things political) it does a disservice not to allow comments, and/or to moderate comments you don’t agree with. We learn and expand our horizons through debate and discussion. My personal rule on comments on my webpage is that as long as they are not clearly spam or totally unrelated, they will be allowed.

So why am I writing this? Well, I noticed a few months back that one blog I follow moderates comments, and has in past not posted comments I have made. Okay, their blog, they can do what they want. But on the other hand, this blogger has blogged several times on the importance of wikileaks and his support for Bradley Manning. An advocate of free speech and transparency, yet comments are moderated.

But what really made me post this was a posting from another blogger relating to comments I made on one of their blog postings. The interesting thing? I posted a response to that blog post and it wasn’t posted ( nor was a second comment on the original posting). Hmmmm…posting to attack and dish it, but can’t take posts rebutting your argument, huh?

Seems to me if you are blogging on politics or other highly charged discussion items and you allow comments on your posts you should have some moderation policies that are a little better than “rebuttal with facts not allowed”

5 thoughts on “The Moderation ( or lack thereof) of commentary

  1. I don’t know why your comments didn’t show up, but I don’t moderate any comments. Riverman responded three times in that post offering a dissenting opinion of Maloway (I’m currently drafting a post where I fact-check the claims).

    • Odd. But this seems to happen with several bloggers as well. Anyway, the point of my rebuttal was to look at the historical voting trends in each of the ridings you mentioned. St. B and Transcona seemed to be following the individual MP ( Blaikie, Duhamel). In all ridings, Conservative vote trends were increasing. And in Transcona, Maloway actually increased his vote – it was collapse of Liberal vote that killed him. Now, if Liberal voters got a message indicating they should be voting conservative instead, there may be an issue. As it stands right now, seems like sour grapes from Maloway to me. Other than that, nothing from the historical voting numbers would suggest that these ridings were in anyway influenced by robocalling. As for Maloway specifically – 20+ years as a backbencher – why was he never a provincial cabinet minister? His learning curve for parliament would be smaller than 98% of the rest given the amount of time he spent as an MLA. And his contribution as an MP? Introduce a private Member’s bill that would have fined airlines for inclement weather!

  2. I agree. Some blogs make you sign up as a member & give up your first born. It’s a crazy mess, just to add my 2 cents. Thank you for making your comments section available to everybody, not just privledged members. Keep writing!

    • Agreed. I later thought the issue specifically to have something to do with Chrome, but it seems that’s the case. I’ve tried to post a couple responses to your posts, but to no avail.

Leave a Reply

