The Courtesy Wave (or lack thereof)

I’m writing this post as I sit on a bus going to work. You see there was a stalled bus at my bus stop. Being the lazy bugger that I am I waited for a few buses to pass so that I could get on one where I had a chance of sitting as opposed to standing. That’s a good thing though – increased bus ridership. Guess $1.20 gas is good for something.

Anyway I digress.

50%
That’s the number of drivers that gave courtesy waves when drivers in the middle lane let them in to get around the stalled bus; and several drivers in the middle lake made a point of accelerating so they couldn’t get in.
Now I can understand the frustration when someone zips past signs indicating a closed lane for construction, only to cut people off when the lane actually ends. But this is a stalled bus at a bus stop. You have to be pretty close to see it is stalled and not just picking up passengers.

50%
So what has happened to courtesy while driving? Lack of courtesy waves, not signalling, stopping in no stopping zones, the list is endless.

Perhaps we need to make driver courtesy a mandatory pass/fail part of the driver exam?

Leave a Reply

